primary/ V3 LARGE PAIS PATH https://embed.cdn.pais.scholastic.com/v1/products/identifiers/isbn/9780439706407/primary/renditions/400
V3 XLARGE PAIS PATH https://embed.cdn.pais.scholastic.com/v1/products/identifiers/isbn/9780439706407/primary/renditions/1000

Out from Boneville (BONE #1) : Out From Boneville

Series: Bone

by Jeff Smith, Illustrated By Jeff Smith


Scholastic Inc.
February 2005


Fiction
Ages 11 – 13 . Grades 6 – 8

Library of Congress: N/A


Lexile measure: GN360L

DRA: 60

Guided Reading: W

SRCQuiz

ARQuiz


After being run out of Boneville, the three Bone cousins -- Fone Bone, Phoney Bone, and Smiley Bone -- are separated and lost in a vast, uncharted desert. One by one, they find their way into a deep, forested valley filled with wonderful and terrifying creatures. Eventually, the cousins are reunited at a farmstead run by tough Gran'ma Ben and her spirited granddaughter, Thorn. But little do the Bones know, there are dark forces conspiring against them and their adventures are only just beginning!
Jeff_smith_lg
Jeff Smith

Jeff Smith is the creator of the award-winning, New York Times bestselling BONE series. He was born and raised in the American Midwest and learned about cartooning from comic strips, comic books, and TV animation. Visit him online at boneville.com.

SELECT REVIEWS:

  • “Charming, character-driven fantasy with an elegant design and masterful story-telling in the tradition of Walt Kelly, Charles Schulz and Carl Barks.” -- PW

    “Like Pogo, BONE has whimsy best appreciated by adults, yet kids can enjoy it, too; and like Barks' Disney Duck stories, BONE moves from brash humor to gripping adventure in a single panel.” -- ALA Booklist

    “Bone has the multi-level writing and artwork of the best Chuck Jones cartoons or early Disney movies. It's overflowing with subtext about conflicting philosophies of power, cultural imperialism and political responsibility – though not enough to get in the way of its silly fun.” – CMJ New Music Monthly

    “One of the best kid's comics ever.” – Vibe Magazine

    “…Sprawling, mythic comic is spectacular.” – Spin Magazine

    “ I love BONE! BONE is great!” – Matt Groening

    “Jeff Smith can pace a joke better than almost anyone in comics; his dialogue is delightful -- so are all his people, not to mention his animals, his villains, and even his bugs.” -- Neil Gaiman

TODO - RELATED RESOURCES

Paperback / softback
$12.99

Softcover Smyth Paperback

ISBN: 9780439706407

144pp. | 6 x 9