primary/ V3 LARGE PAIS PATH https://embed.cdn.pais.scholastic.com/v1/products/identifiers/isbn/9780545385176/primary/renditions/400
V3 XLARGE PAIS PATH https://embed.cdn.pais.scholastic.com/v1/products/identifiers/isbn/9780545385176/primary/renditions/1000

The Savage Fortress

by Sarwat Chadda


Arthur A. Levine Books
October 2013


Fiction
Ages 10 – 14 . Grades 5 – 9

Lexile measure: 660L

DRA: 60

Guided Reading: Y

SRCQuiz

ARQuiz


For fans of Roshani Chokshi and Rick Riordan!

"A fabulous, action-packed modern take on Indian mythology. I can't wait to read more!" -- Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

After three weeks of vacation, Ash Mistry is ready to leave the heat and dust of India behind him. Then he discovers a hidden gold arrowhead---a weapon used to defeat evil King Ravana in legend.

At least, Ash is pretty sure it's only a legend . . .

But when Lord Savage comes after Ash, the legends are suddenly way too real. Savage commands an army of monstrous shapechangers called rakshasas, who want only to seize the arrowhead and restore Ravana to power. As they hunt Ash through magnificent fortresses and brutal deserts, he must learn to work with a powerful rakshasa girl named Parvati, and find the strength within himself to fight on and save the world as we know it.
Sarwat Chadda

Sarwat Chadda is the author of the YA novels DEVIL'S KISS and DARK GODDESS. A former engineer, he is very glad to now be constructing stories and not ductwork systems. He lives in London, England, with his family. Visit him on the web at www.sarwatchadda.com and @sarwatchadda.

SELECT REVIEWS:

  • Praise for THE SAVAGE FORTRESS:

    "Nonstop action and likeable teen characters will attract fans of fantasy quests such as the Percy Jackson books and the saga of Nicolas Flamel."--KIRKUS REVIEWS

    "Brilliantly done and definitely a highlight of my reading year so far."--THEBOOKSMUGGLERS.COM

TODO - RELATED RESOURCES

--- - ! "From THE SAVAGE FORTRESS:

Ash tightened his hold on the drainpipe and hoisted himself up. The pipe shook and leaned away from the wall. John had told him he regularly scrabbled up such drainpipes -- how hard could it be? But then John was half his body weight, even after all the exercise Ash had been doing.
\tArms and legs wrapped around the clay pipe, Ash slowly shimmied upward. The rough surface scraped against his skin, rubbing his belly raw. Cables brushed against his back, and Ash hoped he wasn't about to be electrocuted. But the wires seemed dead, and he found gaps in the walls to push himself the last few feet. With a grunt he heaved himself over the low parapet, dropping on to the flat roof. Holding his breath and willing his heart to quieten, he heard a deep, threatening growl.
\tThe drainpipe rattled, then tore off the wall and smashed."

YOU MIGHT LIKE: