Civil Rights Movement in America, The

Series: Cornerstones of Freedom. Second Series

by Elaine Landau

Children's Press
September 2007

Ages 11 – 13 . Grades 6 – 8

Lexile measure: 1080L

DRA: 50

Guided Reading: V



Even before the first glorious ring of the Liberty Bell, America was a land of freedom and promise. The Cornerstones of Freedom series explores what inspires people from all over the world to start life anew here, endure the economic and social upheavals, and defend the land and rights that are unique to the United States of America.

This book explores the history of race relations in the United States, focusing on the civil rights movement that began in 1954 with the Supreme Court ruling against segregation in public schools.
Elaine Landau

Landau has a bachelor's degree in English and journalism from New York University and a master's degree in library and information science from Pratt Institute.



Perfect-bound Paperback

ISBN: 9780531187654

48pp. | 7-⅞ x 9-½