primary/ V3 LARGE PAIS PATH https://embed.cdn.pais.scholastic.com/v1/products/identifiers/isbn/9780545812320/primary/renditions/400
V3 XLARGE PAIS PATH https://embed.cdn.pais.scholastic.com/v1/products/identifiers/isbn/9780545812320/primary/renditions/1000

Interference

by Kay Honeyman


Arthur A. Levine Books
October 2016


Fiction
Ages 12 – 14 . Grades 7 – 9

Lexile measure: HL570L

DRA: N/A

Guided Reading: Z+


As a Congressman's daughter in Washington, D.C., Kate Hamilton is good at getting what she wants -- what some people might call "interfering." But when her family moves to West Texas so her dad can run in a special election, Kate encounters some difficulties that test all her political skills. None of her matchmaking efforts go according to plan. Her father's campaign gets off to a rough start. A pro tip for moving to Texas: Don't slam the star quarterback's hand in a door. And whenever Kate messes up, the irritatingly right (and handsome) Hunter Price is there to witness it. But Kate has determination and a good heart, and with all her political savvy -- and a little clever interference -- she'll figure out what it takes to make Red Dirt home.

Terrifically funny and sweetly romantic, with whip-crack dialogue and a wise perspective on growing up, Interference is the perfect next read for fans of Jenny Han, Huntley Fitzpatrick, Elizabeth Eulberg, or Sarah Dessen.
Kay Honeyman

Kay Honeyman grew up in Texas, where she followed football and politics with equal passion. Her first novel, The Fire Horse Girl, was nominated for three state awards. Kay now teaches language arts in Dallas, where she lives with her family. Please visit her website at www.kayhoneyman.com and follow her on Twitter at @kayhoneyman.

SELECT REVIEWS:

  • Advance Praise for Interference

    "I loved reading about Kate, who uses her street smarts and political know-how to go after what she knows is right. With its winning combination of football, politics, and a swoony small-town romance, this story stole my heart." -- Miranda Kenneally, author of Catching Jordan and Defending Taylor

    "If you've ever messed up big time and yearned to hit restart, you must read Interference. Kay Honeyman's big-hearted exploration of life after a scandal reveals the true meaning of love, forgiveness, and courage." -- Justina Chen, author of North of Beautiful and A Blind Spot for Boys

    "Kay Honeyman scores a touchdown with Interference, a fabulous read about new beginnings and family politics, freshly spun with humor, scandal, football, and a little romance." -- Elizabeth Eulberg, author of The Lonely Hearts Club and Better Off Friends


    Praise for The Fire Horse Girl

    *"First-time author Honeyman has researched the history of Angel Island and early twentieth century San Francisco carefully, yet the ultimate strength of this story is in her character Jade Moon. Her voice, authentic and consistent, transcends this historical fiction/adventure/love story to embrace every young woman who has ever searched for the real person hidden under the veneer of society's expectations." -- Booklist, starred review

    "Historical details create a strong sense of setting, and readers will recognize (well before Jade Moon does) that her inner fire is an asset, and that she's much more than the sign under which she was born." -- Publishers Weekly

    "In a defiant first-person voice, Jade Moon describes the desperate lives of Chinese immigrant women as she relies on her Fire Horse persona to save herself... Perilous, page-turning adventure in old Chinatown." -- Kirkus Reviews

    "Jade Moon is a complex heroine and this book offers fascinating discussion points for the themes of feminism, gender roles, and diversity. Adult fans of Amy Tan may also enjoy this thoughtful, well-crafted story." -- Voice of Youth Advocates

TODO - RELATED RESOURCES

--- - ! '"I don''t know how to drive."

He slammed on the brakes. "You''re kidding, right?"

"My parents just never had time to teach me. We''re always busy campaigning. And in D.C. we have this thing called public transportation."

Hunter put the truck in park and got out.

"What are you doing?" I yelled through the open back window. "We''re in the middle of the road. Get back in the car."

He strolled to my door and pulled it open. "Move over."

"Why?"

"I''m teaching you how to drive."

I shook my head. "I can''t."

"Come on, you have to let me make up for being such an idiot," he said.

I slumped against the seat and stared out the window. "No, you still don''t get it. I''ll hit something," I said. "Then people will find out that I hit something, and my dad will get furious, not because the car is wrecked, not because his insurance goes up, but because the talk shows will start asking him questions about teenage drivers. He''ll be asked if texting on the road should be illegal, and as a father, does he support a curfew for teens. They won''t ask about me, but it will be a barrage of questions that surround me, and he''ll have to field every one. Then they''ll start looking at Kyle Stone''s driving record, which is probably perfect, and Dad will come home at the end of the day, and I''ll get that look. The look you saw today."

Hunter pointed out the front window. "What are you going to hit?"

I looked across an empty desert to the horizon. The sky stretched for miles in front of me. It felt more part of the landscape than the sky in D.C., like you could touch it.

"And if it helps," Hunter said, "Kyle drives like a blind monkey."'