primary/ V3 LARGE PAIS PATH https://embed.cdn.pais.scholastic.com/v1/products/identifiers/isbn/9781338561593/primary/renditions/400
V3 XLARGE PAIS PATH https://embed.cdn.pais.scholastic.com/v1/products/identifiers/isbn/9781338561593/primary/renditions/1000

Cattywampus

by Ash Van Otterloo


Scholastic Press
August 2020


Fiction
Ages 8 – 12 . Grades 3 – 7


In the town of Howler's Hollow, conjuring magic is strictly off-limits. Only nothing makes Delpha McGill's skin crawl more than rules. So when she finds her family's secret book of hexes, she's itching to use it to banish her mama's money troubles. She just has to keep it quieter than a church mouse -- not exactly Delpha's specialty.

Trouble is, Katybird Hearn is hankering to get her hands on the spell book, too. The daughter of a rival witching family, Katy has reasons of her own for wanting to learn forbidden magic, and she's not going to let an age-old feud or Delpha's contrary ways stop her. But their quarrel accidentally unleashes a hex so heinous it resurrects a graveyard full of angry Hearn and McGill ancestors bent on total destruction. If Delpha and Katy want to reverse the spell in time to save everyone in the Hollow from rampaging zombies, they'll need to mend fences and work together.

Fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Witch Boy will love this funny, folksy, fresh debut from Ash Van Otterloo that proves sometimes it takes two witches to make the strongest magic happen.
Ash Van Otterloo

Ash Van Otterloo is the debut author of Cattywampus. When they're not writing and freelance editing, they loves gardening, hiking, exchanging playful banter, and collecting folklore stories. A longtime resident of the foothills of the Smoky Mountains, they now live in Washington with their spouse and four feral children.

TODO - RELATED RESOURCES

$17.99

ISBN: 9781338561593

288pp. | 5-½ x 8-¼